Our city Government

Ocean Shores is a Washington State Code City with a Mayor-Council form of government (also known as a strong-mayor).The elected mayor serves as the city's Chief Administrative Officer. The City Council, elected at large, is the City's legislative body.

Like the Federal and State government, the City's government powers are distributed among the three separate branches: legislative (the City Council), executive (the Mayor), and judicial (the Municipal Court). Also like the Federal and State governments, the three branches of City government operate under the "separation of powers" doctrine where each of the three branches exercises certain defined powers free from unreasonable interference by the others; yet all three interact with each other as part of the 'checks and balances' system. The powers of these three City branches are defined by the Washington State statute in the Revised Code of Washington (RCW) Chapter 35.A.12


Click HERE to view/download the current City organization chart

Click HERE for the Public Records Request form

Our elected officials

The Mayor
The City Council

The City Council meets the 2nd and 4th Mondays of each month at 6:00 PM in the Convention Center.

our administration and departments

Municipal Airport
City Clerk
Finance Department
Fire and Emergency Medical Services
Public Library
Municipal Court
Public Parks
Police Department
Public Works Department
Tourism and Business Development
Interpretive Center


The Administration and Departments are composed of City employees who work within that department for the general benefit of the City of Ocean Shores.

our boards, commissions, and committees

Airport Development and Operating Committee
Civil Service Commission
Fresh Waterways Board
Library Board
Lodging Tax Advisory Committee
Parks Board
Planning Commission
Public Works Advisory Committee
Radio Board


Our Boards, Commissions, and Committees are usually composed of citizen volunteers who work with a Council Liason to advise the City Government on issues and direction of specific activities of that committee or board.